Technological Educational Institute of Crete

The Technological Educational Institute of Crete (TEI of Crete) is a higher education and research organization, founded in 1983 by the Hellenic Ministry of Education. It is now comprised of 17 Departments in a variety of scientific and technological disciplines including management and economics, health and welfare services, agricultural and environmental technology, electronics, mechanical engineering, computer and informatics engineering, while many of the curricula are multidiscipline in their structure. TEI of Crete is a thriving academic community with an expert faculty of about 400 members, over 300 administrative and technical staff and approximately 12000 students.
In SMILE project, TEIC participates via the PASIPHAE laboratory of the Informatics Engineering department. PASIPHAE staff possesses extensive research and development experience in information technology & telecommunications, multimedia technologies and interactive services, wireless and mobile communications for IoT and 5G applications, as well as know-how in field-trials and experimental test-beds under real conditions (large-scale deployed platforms with actual end-users). In this respect, TEIC will be mainly involved in SMILE Tasks related to the design and implementation of the Frontend modules, the client applications and services for registering traveller’s (Mobility management modules), to the Smart/Fast Lanes’ systems for travellers identification (including the wireless communication to the local BCP), the algorithms and Border Wait Time optimisation mechanisms for managing land border throughput, along with Tasks related to SMILE’s system integration and performance evaluation, as well as to the SMILE training and dissemination activities. For the latter, TEIC will prepare and organise dedicated workshops and Panel discussion within the framework of the International Conference on Telecommunications and Multimedia (TEMU) that is technically co-sponsored by IEEE/ComSoc (partner TEIC holds the general chair).